Posted in Ուսումնական նյութեր

The dog and the cat


1․ Once there lived a pussy cat,
Who was very sleek and fat.

As for his trade,
Warm things he made:
Hats and mittens
For cats and kittens.
One fine day the furrier–cat
Whistling in his workshop sat
When in came a dog
Out of the fog.
2
He made a low bow
And he yelped “Hullo!”
And after he’d yelped
He pulled out a pelt.
Then he said to the cat:
“Have a look at that.
I’ve got no hat
And the winter’s near.
It’s all too bad;
I’ll freeze, I fear.
If it comes out nice,
I’ll pay any price.
What do you say?”
«0.K.»
3
“How long will it take?”
“Oh, less than a week.
To oblige a friend,
I’ll be double-quick.
Sewing a hat
Isn’t sewing a coat
Oh no, mere play.
Come on Saturday!”
4
“It won’t be a hat
But a very peach,
The envy, I’ll warrant,
Of every and each.
As for the money,
That can wait.
We’ll talk it over—
Never too late.
Sewing a hat
Isn’t sewing a coat.”
“Good-bye, Cat!”
And off the dog strode.
5
On Saturday morning
The dog turned up,
Shaking and shivering
Like a wretched pup.
“Is it ready, my hat?”
“Oh no,” they said.
“And where’s the Cat?”
“Not at home yet.”

6
Before the doorstep
On a mat
Frozen Mr. Doggy sat,
When down the street
Came Mr. Cat
In a brand-new lambskin hat.
Tile saw the dog and he said:
“Waiting for me, I bet?
You’ll be getting your hat, don’t worry,
But don’t be in such a hurry..
Though it isn’t a coat but a hat,
It takes time, a job like that.
I sprinkled the pelt before tea.
Now I’ve got to cut it, you see?”
7
“Too bad,” said the dog, “too bad,
That you haven’t yet finished the hat.
But maybe you’ll tell me plain
When can I see you again?
I’m coming here not to chat,
But to get my hat, Mr. Cat!”

pussy – փիսիկ

A pussy lives in my house

furrier – մորթագործ

I’m a furrier

yelped – գոռաց

Anna yelped  hello

pelt – կարկուտ

There is hail pelt

strode – քայլեց

the dog strode

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *